Judging Process

The judging process is anonymous and confidential.  To ensure anonymity in judging, no names of applicants or collaborating parties may appear on submitted images, drawings or written support materials.

Jurors and their practices are not permitted to enter the Houses Awards in the year they are participating in the program. Jurors must declare any other perceived conflict of interest regarding an entry and step down from the panel for assessment of that entry.

The Jury reserves the right to re-classify the project to a more appropriate category, if deemed necessary.

Jury decisions are final and no correspondence will be entered into.

2019 Jury

Lindy Atkin

Co-director, Bark Architects (Qld)

Lindy Atkin has been a co-director of Bark Architects with Stephen Guthrie since forming the practice in Noosa in 1997. Bark operates out of Bark Studio, for which Lindy and Stephen won the Beatrice Hutton Award for Commercial Architecture from the Queensland chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects in 2005. Designing for regional coastal environments, primarily in Noosa and the surrounding Sunshine Coast, Bark carefully considers the landscape, the microclimate and how to unlock the “spirit” of each site.

As a councillor for the Institute’s Queensland chapter from 2012 to 2017, Lindy was an active member of the Regional Affairs Committee and was the creative director, with Stephen, for the Institute’s 2016 regional architecture conference, Evoke. Lindy and Stephen have been invited to present numerous lectures in Australia and around the world, including in India, the Philippines, Iceland and Chile.

John Choi

Partner, Chrofi (NSW)

John Choi is a partner of Chrofi, a dynamic architectural practice that operates across a wide portfolio from houses to cities. The practice is widely recognized for design excellence and innovation. Awards include the 2007 New York Art Commission Award and the 2009 Australian Institute of Architects Jørn Utzon Award for International Architecture. In 2012, John was nominated for the Iakov Chernikhov Prize and in 2014, he was runner-up in the AR Awards for Emerging Architecture.

He is an adjunct professor at the University of Sydney, is a member of the New South Wales State Design Review Panel and serves on the board of the 4A Centre for Contemporary Asian Art.

Rachel Nolan

Principal, Kennedy Nolan (Vic)

Rachel Nolan is a principal of architecture practice Kennedy Nolan, established with Patrick Kennedy in Melbourne in 1999. Kennedy Nolan has a reputation for making architecture with a distinct approach to built form and highly considered interiors and has been recognized by numerous design awards. The firm was the subject of a retrospective exhibition at the University of Melbourne and has been widely published both in Australia and abroad. In addition to the practice of architecture, Rachel has been actively involved in the Australian Institute of Architects as a juror for the Victorian chapter and a member of the Institute’s Honours Committee. She has taught a number of design studios at the University of Melbourne’s Melbourne School of Design and is currently a member of the university’s Architecture Advisory Board.

Luigi Rosselli

Director, Luigi Roselli Architects (NSW)

Luigi Rosselli is an Australian architect who has practised for over thirty-three years and is recognized for his humanist approach, in which people and the environment take precedence over preconceived design dogmas. His buildings have the softness of timeworn structures, of organically grown forms, unlike the sharpness and cool perfection of contemporary architecture.

Luigi’s formative experiences as a student architect included working for Mario Botta in Switzerland and for Romaldo Giurgola, both in New York and in Canberra, where he contributed to the design of Parliament House. After receiving a Master of Architecture in 1984 from the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, with a thesis on eclecticism and a project for a hotel on the Simplon Pass, Luigi moved permanently to Australia. He established his own practice in Sydney in 1985, which continues today.

Hannah Tribe

Hannah Tribe

Principal, Tribe Studio Architects (NSW)

Hannah Tribe founded Tribe Studio Architects in 2003. The practice designs beautiful bespoke houses, thoughtful interiors, intelligent schools and generous masterplans. The work of the studio is underpinned by the belief that every piece of architecture and design has a responsibility to improve the public domain of the site, to contribute to a sustainable future and to enhance the lives of its users.

The studio has select projects all over the world, and has been recognized in awards at state, national and international level. Hannah leads the team of fifteen architects at Tribe, as well as designing architectural products including furniture, door hardware and fittings. She is a lover of literature and supporter of contemporary art in Australia.

Katelin Butler

Editorial director, Architecture Media 

Katelin is the editorial director at Architecture Media. Prior to her appointment as editorial director, Katelin was the design portfolio manager at Architecture Media, editor of Houses (2010–2018) and assistant editor of Architecture Australia (2005–2009).

She has coedited three books, The Forever House: Time-Honoured Australian Homes (2014), The Terrace House: Reimagined for the Australian Way of Life (2015) and The Apartment House: Reframing the Australian Dream, all published by Thames and Hudson. Katelin holds a Bachelor of Environmental Design from the University of Tasmania and a Master of Architecture from the University of Melbourne. She was a juror for the 2018 National Architecture Awards and has also been a peer juror for other awards programs, exhibition curator, guest university critic and speaker at various industry events and conferences.

Sustainability adviser

Dr Dominique Hes received a science degree from Melbourne University and followed this with an engineering degree and a PhD in 2005 at RMIT University, Melbourne. The thesis investigates her practice in supporting the integration of ecological sustainability in building projects. Her most successful publication is the ESD Design Guide for Australian Government Buildings, which is in its third edition. She has written a companion guide ESD Operations Guide for Owners, Managers and Tenants, published in 2009. She has recently published a book Designing for Hope: Pathways to Regenerative Sustainability and Enabling Eco-Cities. She was a founding director of the Living Future Institute Australia and has contributed to sustainable housing projects for the past twenty-five years, including Aurora, the Commonwealth games village, the Paddock, Cairnlea EcoHome and others. 

Architectural Advice in Heritage Category

Bruce Trethowan is a director of Trethowan Architecture and is based in Melbourne. The work of this heritage-based practice includes restoration and refurbishment of heritage buildings and the design of new buildings in environmentally sensitive locations. Bruce has been involved in a diverse range of projects since commencing in private practice in 1980, including commercial, residential and institutional buildings. He and his firm have been the recipient of a number of architectural awards, including the inaugural Australian Heritage Award for restoration and redevelopment of 1 Collins Street, Melbourne and a national award and Victorian award from the Australian Institute of Architects for the refurbishment of Coriyule Homestead at Drysdale. He is well known as an author of studies into Australian architectural history.